A little bit overtrained

So, when i imported all my last workouts to TP, i got to see in facts and figures that i have been training to hard for three months. TSS is way above what it should be at my age/level. Im feeling a little fatigued, i have a cold im not getting rid of 100% and lacking punch. I need to get a grip and train more smart. To do this first week im thinking of lowering my FTP in zwift. Im going to just do the sessions you push @Coach_Theia and nothing else. That will be aprox half the TSS ive had the lasts month. Any other suggestions how to get back? Maybe push the workouts to later this week?

2 Likes

Hi @Silje - great post and questions. TSS is a tool, but it is not a perfect tool (I explain it why in the video below). So while it is OK to look at TSS, it should not be the only thing to consider when training. How you feel and perform day in and day out is more important, and I can see from your comment that you recognize that- which is great!

I think your plan for this week makes sense, lower your FTP by 20% and do only two of the three workouts from the Challenge this week + 1 EASY (55% of FTP or below) ride. Start with that easy ride, then do 1.1 and 1.3 with the lower FTP (lower it more if needed and focus on skills such as cadence and transitions of power outside of ERG). Space them out throughout the week. Eat well, sleep as much as you can.

About training smart…

Training smart is indeed key to consistency - meaning, training just hard enough to create enough stimulus and adaptation that will yield the most progress, so that you are able to recover and continue training without interruptions due to health and fatigue issues. That’s when a good structured training program comes in. I used to be obsessed with TSS and was (in the words of my own coach), a “fatigue millionaire” who could not “cash out” all of that fatigue into performance.