Cadence Training is Hard but it gets better over time

I’m not allowed to post in the private forums, so I’ll make a post here for the folks experiencing high cadence for the first time.

I’m a grinder on the trainer. I like to ride between 70 and 80 rpms. High cadence is really hard for me. REALLY HARD. I hate it. But I do it because it makes me stronger and more efficient. When our coach first started giving me high cadence drills it took several months to adapt to them. And even now, years later, I struggle with them. Today I did 12’ @ 100 rpm at my endurance pace. Everything but my quads started to hurt. Doing high cadence at lower powers puts less stress on the quads and more stress on the tendons, stabilizers, etc… You will feel less tired after the workout because the power is lower and the quads are not getting hammered. But you will see improvements in power quickly because these “other” muscles are likely weak and don’t get trained much.

4 Likes

And the efficiency that comes from training high cadence is more power transfer to the pedals (i.e., improved torque). Everyone struggles for months when they first start to train high cadence. But everyone is different on how they adapt. I am different than @dfriestedt in that 12 minutes at 100 rpms does not feel as hard for me. My body is obviously different than his, and I am a different type of rider with different muscle fiber composition.