Extra workouts and social rides

Hi all! I’m new to 360 Velo and very excited to get stronger, faster and climb better!
I got my weekly workout and wonder how to treat extra workouts that are fairly exclusively either easy rambler-pace rides or endurance group rides at moderate pace 28-32 km/h that I like to do for social reasons in real life and on Zwift. For example, I have a “threshold” workout this Tuesday that I’ll do in the morning but I also would like to join a 56 km group ride in the evening. I’d appreciate your thoughts!

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the party @ChaCha!

To answer your question, it all depends! It’s always a balancing act between workouts, fun rides, life, and rest days. How you decide to balance things is up to you and your priorities. I personally prioritize my training because it supports the fun stuff. And yes, there has been some fun stuff I have had to pass up and/or let go of.

You could, for instance move workouts around. Or, as in your Tuesday example, do your workout in the morning, your group ride in the evening (marking it as the midweek endurance ride on your calendar) and then take Wednesday off as a rest day. I’m sure @Coach_Theia could give you even more advice based on what you are used to and what your goals and events are. Just be sure you get plenty of rest–rest is harder than the hardest workouts and one of the most important parts of training. This is coming from someone who used to think that more was better and resting meant a 50 mile ride instead of 100 miles. :grin:

4 Likes