Getting faster on the bike

@Coach_Theia Thanks for the response. Not sure if this is the best place to share but here goes. I’m very frustrated after yesterdays ride. I rode with two ladies (a little younger but not very) who only started riding last year and were either about my speed or less (i’ve been riding for five years) last summer/fall. We’ve been riding similar miles and two of us did the same training program for three months from November last year on our indoor trainers. That is the first winter I’ve ever consistently trained. I’ve even lost weight since then and have also been doing a fitness training (resistance) program over the last three months. Yet I could not keep up with these ladies. In the end they averaged 16 mph while i averaged 14.4 mph. They had to keep waiting for me which I hated. Yes I’m competitive by nature but I’m more upset that I feel like I haven’t made any progress in the last year. I did RAGBRAI last summer so I have the endurance, but I am very disappointed that I haven’t made any improvements in speed. What am I doing wrong? I’m destined to ride alone at this rate…

I’m finding already that these workouts Are pulling some of my best efforts out of me. Which I think I was lacking with some other plans I’ve done. If I’m not being challenged some, I tend to get bored!

3 Likes

@Kriddley I understand your frustration. Improving strength and speed on the bike is a result of a combination of things. Obviously I don’t have insights on what you and the other two ladies have been doing on a daily/weekly basis for the past 6-12 months, so I can only speculate. Here are some thoughts: